Welcome to LookChem.com Sign In | Join Free

The Nobel Prize

Home > The Nobel Prize
  • All Nobel Prizes in Chemistry
  • Alfred Bernhard Nobel (21 October 1833 – 10 December 1896) was a Swedish chemist, engineer, innovator, and armaments manufacturer. He is the inventor of dynamite. On 27 November 1895, Alfred Nobel signed his last will and testament, giving the largest share of his fortune to a series of prizes, the Nobel Prizes. The Nobel Prize in Chemistry is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the will of Alfred Nobel in 1895. It is awarded annually by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences to scientists in the various fields of chemistry. Compared with some other prizes, the Nobel Prize nomination and selection process is long and rigorous, a key reason why it has become the most important prize in chemistry.

    102 Nobel Prizes in Chemistry have been awarded since 1901. It was not awarded on eight occasions: in 1916, 1917, 1919, 1924, 1933, 1940, 1941 and 1942. Up till now, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to 160 Laureates. As Frederick Sanger has been awarded twice, there are 159 individuals who have received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry since 1901. To date, 62 Chemistry Prizes have been given to one Laureate only; 22 Chemistry Prizes have been shared by two Laureates; 18 Chemistry Prizes have been shared between three Laureates.

    The first Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded in 1901 to Jacobus Henricus van 't Hoff, of the Netherlands, "for his discovery of the laws of chemical dynamics and osmotic pressure in solutions." The 2010 Nobel Prize is awarded to Richard F. Heck, Ei-ichi Negishi and Akira Suzuki.
Periodic Table
    Hot Products